Chiefs second at conference girls tennis tournament (Daily Gate City)


FORT MADISON — The Keokuk Chiefs finished second among four teams at the Southeast Conference Girls Tennis Tournament Monday.

Fairfield won the team title with 19 points. Keokuk scored 15 points. Fort Madison had 11 points, and Mount Pleasant finished with nine points.

Keokuk won conference championships in No. 5 singles, No. 2 and No. 3 doubles.

Lexi Walrath won the Chiefs’ lone singles title. She opened with an 8-3 win over Mount Pleasant’s Erin Zihlman and defeated Fairfield’s Anna Beasley for the title.

Jakala Hall and Lauren Hasselbusch finished first in No. 2 doubles. Hall and Hasselbusch opened with an 8-2 win over Fairfield’s Dayna Price and Cami Schaeffer. Hall and Hasselbusch also scored an 8-2 in the final over Mount Pleasant’s Thaun Tran and Quin Whaley.

Walrath and Maddi Miller won the title in No. 3 doubles. They opened with an 8-6 win over Fairfield’s Beasley and Ashley Pool. Walrath and Miller won the title over Fort Madison’s Mercedee Doty and Chrissa Smith 8-3.

Hall, Hasselbusch and Allie Brookhart each finished second in singles.

Hall defeated Fort Madison’s Katie Larson 8-3, but fell 8-0 to Fairfield’s Anatta Charoenkul in No. 1 singles.

Hasselbusch topped Whaley 8-5 to reach the final in No. 3 singles, but Schaeffer defeated Hasselbsuch 8-4.

Brookhart started with an 8-4 win over Mount Pleasant’s Kiley Sourwine in No. 4 singles, but Fort Madison’s Larissa Ferrill edged Brookhart 8-6 in the final.

Madison Etter fell to Price 9-8 (7-5) and Tran 8-5 in No. 2 singles, while Miller lost to Sheyanne Walter 9-7 and to Smith 8-1 in No. 6 singles.

Etter and Brookhart lost to Mount Pleasant’s Meagan Sutherland and Sourwine 8-5 and to Fort Madison’s

Katie Larson and Hope Gray 8-5 in No. 1 doubles.

Comments --